3 things you should do before, during, and after a traffic ticket, and what the police are looking f
As a traffic ticket lawyer practicing in Tennessee and Georgia from Chattanooga, I go to a lot of different courts along I-75 and I-24: Chattanooga, Collegedale, Signal Mountain, East Ridge, Soddy Daisy, Bradley County, McMinn County, Marion County, Hamilton County, Grundy County, Sequatchie County, all in Tennessee. In Georgia, Dalton, Ringgold, Emerson, Walker County, Dade County, Catoosa County, Cobb County, and Cherokee County to name some. These counties and cities have some things in common, and I want to go over a few of them.
First, do not upset the police officer. You cannot believe how difficult it is to work with an upset officer, sheriff, or trooper: tremendously difficult. In general the result is vice versa, when they are not upset. Remember, they may not have decided to give you a ticket, don't make it more difficult, nor start to build a bad driver history as the officer highlights in the below news story.
Second, remember generally in court, the officer’s story will be believed unless you have some evidence to the contrary for example witnesses or a video. Do not get into officer says, you say. This is usually a losing battle and will end up with unnecessary results. Remember, I can work with the officer, the court, and the prosecutor after the traffic ticket and possibly get it dropped or reduced if you do these three things.
Third, either (a) have up to date insurance with you at the time the police are trying to give you a traffic ticket, or (b) if you don't have it with you at the time of the traffic ticket, have a copy of the up to date insurance you should have had with you during the traffic ticket and bring it with you to court. The charge for not having insurance at the time of the traffic ticket is called financial responsibility. Believe me, you will need a copy of your insurance. I work with plenty of officers and prosecutors, and they are usually willing to work with me if you have insurance.
Insurance is especially key if you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, and you did not have insurance with you at the time of the accident. Many officers and judges want to make sure the accident will be taken care of with your insurance. This goes a long way in negotiations.
Now, it is even more key, given the recent law change in Tennessee. If you don't have insurance for instance in Collegedale, Bradley County, or Marion County, the fine has increased from $100 to $300, and the police, sheriff, or trooper can tow your vehicle right there in front of you. If you have a traffic ticket in the Chattanooga metro area, contact Advice Law Firm.